Branding

This lecture was an introduction to branding to provide consideration of branding history, theory, key brand examples and related marketing perspectives and terminology. The session questioned the power of branding and how we understand and relate to brands.

We were then provided with a brand at random, of which we then went to research again with a brief overview of the company and their history on one side of the luggage tag and then on the back all the words that come to mind in association of that brand. On the brown envelope we then wrote different sources in which our brand was mentioned or featured in. The brand I was given was Vans so finding sources was quite easy as the contemporary company are in style at the moment. On the back we were then asked to find contact details of the brand so that we could write to them.

After collecting this information I then had the intentions on contacting the brand via email. This was the finalised email I sent:

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am a first year BA (Hons) Graphic Design student studying at the Arts University Bournemouth, UK.

I am currently undertaking research into branding and I am investigating some of the most successful global brands that exist today. I write to ask if you can help me in my research. As part of my course we are staging a showcase of contemporary brands. I would like to feature Vans as my contribution to the display and I ask if you could help me secure the following:

1.       a copy of your latest annual report

2.       any promotional material that you could kindly offer

3.       an item that you think best represents the name of the brand

Any help that you can offer will be very much appreciated and will be acknowledged accordingly.

I do hope that you can help me.

Many thanks,

Yours sincerely,

Harriet Roberts

In response to this an email conformation came through confirming that they had received my message and will be in touch soon.

Screen Shot 2015-11-22 at 16.14.21

Leave a comment